Entries by Jonathan Benchetrit

New Orleans

Few Places to Discover: Swirl Wine Bar & Market – 3143 Ponce de Leon Street, New Orleans If I was going to open a wine bar/store it would have all the trimmings of Swirl. I step inside and for once I don’t get carded. I tell Erin that I’m into biodynamic and fresh wines–turns out the […]

ANTI-SAQ and Why

In these times of wine salons, pink elephants and pure white-house drivel, I feel the urge to take on my greatest nemesis yet: The SAQ. The audacity surely comes from the bottle of Rita & Rudolph Trossen I’ve drunk. My goal is link together certain ideas and points of view into a cohesive whole. What […]

Harvest

Harvest has always played an important role in human civilzation. For pagans, even the modern variety like Celts, the autumnal equinox is embodied by the great feast of Samhaïn, which marks the end of autumn and the beginning of winter.

Reevaluating Bojo nouveau

Our patterns of wine consumption are tainted by a certain selective streak. Any open-minded wine drinker must navigate between what we enjoy drinking and that hint of prejudice that can potentially box us in. When we are taught to decipher wine labels, we are taught to imagine what they taste like, in theory, based on […]

Chef & Sommelier

The decision to go out for a meal at a gastronomic establishment is to be out of your comfort zone and ready for something different. Furthermore, there has got to be a dish whose execution most home chefs can’t achieve, for lack of equipment, time or know-how.

,

Pet-Nat or musing on Natural Wine

In my introductory article for this blog, I let the cat out of the bag by stating my preference for natural wine. I believe I’ve even pledged allegiance, though neither binding nor blind, to the natural wine movement. It would be in keeping with my farm-to-table beliefs, so at least I’m consistant.

,

BBQ in Style

Synonymous with summer is charred meat off the grill, preferably your own grill. I am a fan of the old punk adage D.I.Y. or DO-IT-YOURSELF and hosting a BBQ is about your marinades, your cuts of meat and your expertise in working the grill.

Rosé!

Habits and social norms are always there to guide us when we’re trying to make sense of the world. They also have a role to play in the way knowledge is institutionalized. With rosé, the norm we take for granted is that this style of wine is not meant to be taken as seriously as […]

Entrées par Jonathan Benchetrit

La Nouvelle-Orléans

Quelques places à découvrir : Swirl Wine Bar & Market – 3143 Ponce de Leon Street, Nouvelle-Orléans Des choix de vins qui sortent de l’ordinaire et montrent que Nola est curieuse dans ce domaine. La preuve : du croatina en monocépage et du rosé issu de nebbiolo de la Vallée d’Aoste! L’espace accueille également des soirées […]

SAQ – Incohérences et mauvaise gestion

J’écris ce texte parce qu’il y une trame d’énergie en moi en ce moment, c’est surement le riesling de Trossen que j’ai bu… Mon but est de lier certaines idées et points de vue dans un ensemble cohérent de monopole d’État car, en ce moment, la SAQ est d’une incohérence criante en ce qui concerne […]

La récolte

La récolte a toujours constituée un moment important dans la civilisation humaine. Pour les celtes, païens modernes, l’équinoxe d’automne est incarné par le festin de Samhaïn qui marque le début de l’hiver.

Le Riesling

Le riesling et son appréciation ou non révèle la dichotomie entre les «amateurs» et les «connaisseurs». Faut dire que rares sont ceux qui ont «trippé» sur le riesling comme premier blanc, et rares sont les sommeliers qui ne jurent pas par ce cépage, qu’ils trouvent des plus complexes…

Bojo nouveau réévalué

Nos décisions vis-à-vis du vin sont teintées par une certaine sélectivité. Un dégustateur ouvert doit naviguer une ligne fine entre cette dite « sélectivité » et le préjugé. Un adepte à déchiffrer une étiquette s’imagine déjà ce qu’il y a dedans. Parmi les commentaires péjoratifs que j’entends lorsque des clients feuillettent la carte des vins, figure : […]

Chef & Sommelier

La décision de sortir pour un repas gastronomique découle de la volonté d’être surpris, mis hors de sa zone de confort, c’est pourquoi les assiettes servies doivent faire preuve d’une certaine difficulté en terme d’exécution.

,

BBQ avec style

« De la queue à la barbe » ou tout simplement BBQ ! Faire un BBQ chez soi est épanouissant. Je suis un fervent croyant du vieux dicton punk : FLTM ou fais-le-toi-même. Alors, élabore tes marinades, choisis tes coupes de viande et utilise ton expertise plutôt que de te fier à Ricardo…

Le vin rosé

Les mœurs et les coutumes jouent sur nos manières d’appréhender le monde et particulièrement en ce qui concerne la diffusion du savoir. Lorsque nous pensons au vin rosé, nous prenons pour acquis que c’est un « style » de vin moins sérieux que le vin rouge ou le vin blanc. Cette nonchalance vis-à-vis du rosé est le […]